gnome lost bottom taskbar: Ubuntu 10.04


Hey,

I know its very simple solution, but first time when I got this issue I was surprised and I got no solution.

Mistake : I was about to remove some extra panel from my task bar. But I deleted the panel.

Outcome : I lost my bottom taskbar, whatever window I open I can not see I always need to go Alt+Tab for that.

Solution :
In top panel right click on your panel and left click on “New Panel” Make sure new panel is at bottom – if not click and drag it to the bottom.

Once your panel is at the bottom – right click on the panel and say “add to panel”. A menu will open and from the menu select “Window List”. Left click on the “add button”.

Now when you minimize the window it will appear at the bottom panel.

Hope this will help.

Happy Opensource.

7 Comments

  1. Posted October 22, 2010 at 10:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    save my time – i was like messing around and not getting this – although had seen the panel list but i don’t know
    still
    Thanks a lot for writing this🙂

  2. Solomon
    Posted December 28, 2010 at 4:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks a lot!

  3. Dorothy
    Posted April 12, 2011 at 10:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Just wanted to thank you for the post. I had been searching for an answer for days and this worked for me. I am a very new newbie on Ubuntu and am having problems but I love it.

  4. swMan
    Posted August 18, 2011 at 6:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you, you save my time.

  5. Miguel Sanchez
    Posted December 24, 2011 at 3:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    An easy tip for a quite useful tool! Thank you so much!

  6. chris
    Posted December 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for the post! I already thought it was a really bad problem🙂
    best regards,
    chris

  7. ravi
    Posted June 11, 2013 at 11:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    thanks a lot

Leave a Reply

