How to Play DVD in Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala


Today I got the little problem where I was not able to run the DVD to my this laptop.

I searched and found the tips to run it in my 9.10 karmic KoalaUbuntu.
First, I have read that why this is happening… and I got this link
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RestrictedFormats
It says why some of the formats are not suitable sometime.

Second, then I installed Ubuntu-restricted-extra package to my system. Somewhre it says that these packages are by default installed but I installed again.

Third, still there is no sign of my work, so then you need to run this shell file…

apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
cd /usr/share/doc/libdvdread4/
sudo ./install-css.sh

Thats it, now the DVD is running in my laptop.

One Comment

  1. Madsen
    Posted May 16, 2010 at 6:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks a lot! I run Ubuntu 10.4 on my notebook. Now, with your assistence, I’m able to run DVDs on VLC and other programs!

One Trackback

  1. […] How to Play DVD in Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala November 2009 1 comment […]

Leave a Reply

