Issue with my Acer laptop battery, its says not productive.


I got this —

ganu@ganu:~$ cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/info
present:                 yes
design capacity:         4000 mAh
last full capacity:      1522 mAh
battery technology:      rechargeable
design voltage:          11100 mV
design capacity warning: 300 mAh
design capacity low:     60 mAh
capacity granularity 1:  32 mAh
capacity granularity 2:  32 mAh
model number:            Chapala
serial number:           20080
battery type:            LION
OEM info:                SONY

so when I start my laptop it says, its not with full capacity. Its only using 38% capacity only.

My CD-ROM is also not working

But I am in warranty period so I think I will get replacement. Lest see.

But I trusted Acer.😦

One Comment

  1. paul okeefe
    Posted January 23, 2009 at 9:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Boot computer while connected to power source to single user mode.

    Remove power source.

    Allow to run until hard shutdown.

    Connect power and restart.


    This will recalibrate the battery internal digital gauge which is the capacity reported to the computer.

    In my case, on my Acer, I was able to run from single user mode for an additional 40 minutes past the point that the Gnome power manager was reporting 0% remaining.

    Research Lithium Ion batteries. Then blame Sony, they made it…

Leave a Reply

